Queen's Human Media Lab

Kingston, ON Canada

February 19th, 2012

On-Line Registration Deadline

February 19-22, 2012

TEI conference Watch Live

February 21st, 2012

Design Challenge Voting Closes

Design Challenge

By voting in the Design Challenge, you agree to the manifesto:

  • We think design should be taken more seriously: To vote, you pay and in exchange get the prototype.
  • This is not about making a business. The costs are for the production, as estimated by the teams.
  • We encourage designing of processes. Going beyond a single handmade one-off.
  • The results are prototypes shared within the community. No warranties or blaming.
  • The teams get real life feedback to their concepts.
  • The voters get to experience the designs.

Have a look through the entries below and decide who you want to vote for. You can vote for as many as you like.

The following prizes will be presented at the Banquet on Tuesday evening for:

  1. Most Money Collected
  2. Judges' Award
  3. Fritzing Award. (Three free rounds of PCB-production of his or her concept. www.fritzing.org)

Challenge Contestants

Display Pointers & Apps
Paul Strohmeier, University Maastricht

Jacob T. Carter, Indiana University

Impressions: the memory holder
Jacquelyn van Kampen, TUE

Night Lamportrait
Andrea Cuadra, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering
Marielos Sanson, Stanford University

Point Locus
David Barter, School of Interactive Arts and Technology , Simon Fraser University
Kennet Kwok, School of Interactive Arts and Technology, Simon Fraser University.
Jonathan Morrissey, School of Interactive Arts and Technology, Simon Fraser University.
Karen Truong, School of Interactive Arts and Technology, Simon Fraser University.
Stephanie Wiriahardja: School of Interactive Arts and Technology, Simon Fraser University
Emily Chen, School of Interactive Arts and Technology, Simon Fraser University

Alexander Moakler, York University
Foad Hamidi, York University
Assaf Gadot, York University

Piccolo, the Tiny CNC-bot
Greg Saul, Diatom Studio
Tiago Rorke, Diatom Studio
Cheng Xu, Diatom Studio
Huaishu Peng, CoDe Lab at Carnegie Mellon University

Final Voting State

sponsored by

2012 Design Challenge Fritzing Award

Fritzing is an open-source initiative to support designers, artists, researchers and hobbyists in working creatively with interactive electronics „from Prototype to Product“. We are very excited to announce a big step forward towards „Product“: our Fritzing Fab service offers an easy way to create a custom PCB directly from Fritzing files.

Please allow us to share our excitement with the TEI Community: we would like to sponsor the Fritzing Award for the most promising concept within the Design Challenge section of the TEI 2012 conference. The winner will get three free rounds of PCB-production of his concept*. We hope that Fritzing can help in the development of even more inspiring forms of embodied interaction!

Sponsored by


National Science Foundation human media lab

Grand Logo

Disney Research Seed Studio Tourism Kingston

Contributing Sponsor
Edit - History - Print - Recent Changes - Search
Page last modified on February 22, 2012, at 09:58 AM